Dream of You: In Memory of my Father

We were walking, you and I
down a sidewalk, back and forth
You weren’t speaking, no surprise
looking distant towards the North
Reading thoughts
and counting steps
Feeling lost
expressing regrets
But I knew you’d have to leave
of much, would I complain
From my memory I’ll retrieve
the treasures, the plights, the pain
So on you went, up North
I’ll walk alone, for now, just me
While I go back and forth
waiting for another visit in my dreams.

-Deneé J.

What did you think? I'd love your feedback!

